One Out of Three is a Start

Two days into the new year, and my pile of WIPs is slowly, slowly becoming actual Finished Objects.

It started on the 1st.  Despite having a cough that had plagued me all day and feeling like bed was the best option, I was bound and determined to bind off those gloves for Mabs.  After all, I had been nearly finished for what seemed like an age!  (I think it probably didn’t help that I kept thinking, “I started these back in 2012, and now it’s 2013!!!”)  So after a day of gaming and snow walks and cuddling in front of the fire with my love, I came home, re-watched a few episodes of Friends for what must be the millionth time, and created two little thumbs.  I feel like I fudged it a little on the thumbs – they were a tad wider than I wanted them to be, and I feel like I added more pick-up stitches to one than the other.  I have to constantly remind myself that if I don’t notice the mistakes, someone who doesn’t even knit won’t notice them!  If I did this pattern again – which I certainly intend to, wanting a pair for myself – I might just skip adding extra stitches altogether.  I had one it purely to eliminate any holes, but this is already a lace pattern.  Holes are part of the design.  I get the feeling I could get away with it, have a tighter thumb, and be happy.

I made some sort of mistake when I went back to fix the second glove.  I’m not sure how it happened, but I somehow changed the stitch pattern around so that when I should have been at the end of one repeat, I was back in the middle.  I have no idea how this happened, and I see no visible sign of it in the glove itself, so I’m guessing something just got a little confused when I ripped back.  I don’t know when I went off-track and to be honest, I don’t particularly care.  I mean, I care for curiosity’s sake and because it makes me nuts that something like that can happen without me realizing I’ve made a mistake.  But my rule of thumb for knitting for many, many years has been, “If you can’t see the mistake, don’t waste time fixing it.  If it won’t bother you, it won’t bother anyone else.”  Now there have been many things that I’ve ripped back for that would have bothered me endlessly – the Sylvi dye lot debacle, that button band at the beginning of the Scottish Sweater, and a pair of socks with a picot edge.  These things might not have been very visible to others or even have bothered them if it were their own projects…but they bothered me enough that I knew I would not wear these items if I left them as is.  Who does it hurt for me to rip backwards and fix something?  No one.  The only person it creates extra work and effort for is me.

So on January 1st, 2013, I finished my first outstanding WIP from 2012.  On January 2nd, 2013, I cast on the sleeve for the second of my outstanding WIPs.  This sweater, Blumchen, is going to be a great sweater.  A fantastic sweater.  I can tell it’s going to be one of those sweaters that I layer over top of everything – tee-shirts, sundresses when it’s still too cool, other sweaters to keep warm.  The colour, the cut, and the pattern are very versatile.  The trouble is, I kept getting bored with the stitch pattern.  Just the same 8 stitches over and over and over again, on a repeat of 6 rows….it was a little tedious, particularly when each row takes so long over the body of the sweater.  But the arms should be easier – they’re fewer stitches, which means more rapid changes as I go around and around.  (The pattern said to knit them flat.  I nearly always thumb my nose at such suggestions and knit in the round, going back to my rule of “if it doesn’t bother you, it shouldn’t bother anyone else”.)  The trouble with sleeves is…well, there’s two of them.  I’ve never suffered from Second Sock Syndrome – usually by the time I hit number 2 I have the pattern downpat and know what little tweaks to make along the way.  But with sleeves…they’re a time-suck, and yarn-suck, and they usually drain my energy as well.

Still, we press on!  Before the end of this month, I plan to be finished with all 3 of my outstanding WIPs from 2012 – ONWARDS!!!!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

